Members of Parliament voted 236 to 44 in favour of Bill C-79, which will ratify the Comprehensive and Progressive Trans Pacific Partnership Agreement (CPTPP).

The bill will now be considered by the Senate, where, pending any surprises, it’s expected to pass.

Under the agreement, the CPTPP comes into force 60 days after the first six of its 11 members ratify the agreement. Canadian officials, including International Trade Minister Jim Carr, have said Canada wants to be among the first six.

Three countries have ratified the CPTPP thus far: Japan, Mexico and Singapore. Several others, including Australia, New Zealand, Chile and Peru, are expected to ratify the deal shortly.

Canada and the other 10 CPTPP member nations reached an agreement in principle on Jan. 23, a year after U.S. President Donald Trump formally withdrew from the Trans Pacific Partnership. The 11 remaining members signed the agreement on March 8 during a ceremony in Chile.

Former international trade minister François-Philippe Champagne tabled the CPTPP in the House of Commons on May 22. An implementation bill was introduced in the House on June 14, a week before the Commons rose for its summer recess on June 2.

Source: iPolitics

Read the full article here.